Workshops & Webinars April 5, 2018

Bogotá's Plan Bici - A webinar on the city’s ambitious cycling strategy

For Bogotá project
Event Date 11 April 2018
Location https://c40.zoom.us/meeting/register/70c337002ab9d1ec8c34be5db4a05ad8

The webinar will take place on Wednesday, 11 April 2018 at 9am Bogotá time (10am EDT, 3pm BST, 4pm CEST, 10pm CST). Click here to show in your timezone. 

Registration is required for attendance, and you can register ( and set a reminder) at the link below:

https://c40.zoom.us/meeting/register/70c337002ab9d1ec8c34be5db4a05ad8

Please join us for a webinar on Bogotá’s Plan Bici, the city’s ambitious cycling strategy to become the cycling capital of the world. David Uniman, the city´s Bicycle Manager, will outline the key objectives and projects within Plan Bici, followed by a discussion with attendees. The webinar is organised by the C40 Cities Finance Facility and the C40 Walking and Cycling Network.

David Uniman is the Gerente de la Bici (Bicycle Manager) of Bogotá, a new position created in 2016 by Mayor Peñalosa to develop and implement Plan Bici, a four-year plan to promote cycling in Bogotá. Plan Bici aims to double the mode share of cycling to 10% of all trips by 2020. To achieve this, the city seeks to build at least an additional 120 km of new cycling paths and do maintenance work on an additional 100 km of existing paths. A key project within Plan Bici is Quinto Centenario, a 25-km ‘cycle avenue’ crossing the city north to south and connecting citizens from low, middle and high-income neighbourhoods with jobs, schools and recreational opportunities.

For Bogotá project

The webinar will address the following topics:

  • What is cycling like in Bogotá?
  • What does Bogotá’s cycling infrastructure currently look like?
  • What will Bogotá’s cycling infrastructure look like in the future?
  • How does the city aim to become the world’s cycling capital?
  • What other cycling projects is the city implementing?